Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Which degree route would be best?
When I was 18 and headed off to college many moons ago I majored in Finance because that's what my father told me to do to be the most successful. I h a t e d it and was terrible at those courses but I managed to rack up some business classes above a C. Then I was fortunate enough to take a psych class and I loved it so much that I changed my major. I never finished because I got married and moved (hence why I am now working on this) but for years after I represented my college experience in job interviews as the perfect choice for sales, as someone who is knowledgeable about business and "people". Smile

My advice to my teenage kids is to pursue the degree you love. The advice you have here is correct, most jobs just want the degree.
Amy
Goal: BA in English at TESU
Completed: 78 B&M credits plus:
Institutes: Ethics
Study.com: Personal Finance, History of the Vietnam War, English Comp I, Intro World Religions, Public Speaking, Intro to Humanities
Shmoop: Bible as Literature, Shakespeare's Plays, Women's Lit, Modernist Lit, Holocaust Lit
TECEP: Technical Writing
(09-19-2018, 10:09 AM)jjsafari Wrote:
(09-19-2018, 08:26 AM)Supermind Wrote:
(09-18-2018, 11:40 AM)bjcheung77 Wrote: Why not take both degrees for a bit more money and time?  You can use the BSBA as your "fall back" plan and use your BA Psychology as the degree of choice.  You can have both in the resume when you graduate at the same time for one graduation/residency waiver/cornerstone fee...the only catch is to graduate/finish requirements at the same time.

If you just want one of the degrees, guess what, you can get exactly 90 credits from the BSBA transferred into your BA Psych, or vice versa, the other way around, haha... it just depends what courses you take.  You can prolong your decision by taking the exact courses required.  But my suggestion is, do both as the BSBA is the cheapest/easiest/fastest ACBSP accredited degree!