Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
MCAT info and Med School question
I am a Sophomore biology major, and I am not sure yet what I want to do with my major but am looking into different options. I hear all these crazy, scary stories about the MCAT. Is it true that it is as hard as everyone says? Also, if I am considering the Med School, I have a C in General Chemistry 1 and 2. Does this kill my chance of med school?? Should I retake Gen Chem even if I do well in O Chem?
Thanks so much!
Jesusfreak97 Wrote:I am a Sophomore biology major, and I am not sure yet what I want to do with my major but am looking into different options. I hear all these crazy, scary stories about the MCAT. Is it true that it is as hard as everyone says? Also, if I am considering the Med School, I have a C in General Chemistry 1 and 2. Does this kill my chance of med school?? Should I retake Gen Chem even if I do well in O Chem?
Thanks so much!

Never took the MCAT but you should prepare for it as the rigorous test it is known for. There are study materials out there. You can always do a class over but if I were you I would just focus on studying, getting good grades, and making yourself marketable to the medical schools you are interested in. Finally start this conversation with your advisor at school and get in good with the premed faculty since you will likely need a recommendation from some of them. Good luck
A.A.S. IN RESPIRATORY CARE (LOCAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE): 2007
A.A. IN SOCIAL SCIENCE (LOCAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE): 2015
B.S.A.S.T IN RESPIRATORY CARE (TESU) 2015
You can look at the med school(s) you are considering applying to, and see what the average GPA is for that particular school, and some schools will also list the average GPA for the prerequisite courses as well (all of the sciences, possibly a few other courses like psych, english comp, etc.). If the average is 3.67, then those 2.0's are going to hurt your average quite a bit.