Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cannot document my BS, MS and PhD. Next steps?
I have a BS, MS and PhD in Mathematics from a top university in my old country (Eastern Europe). I have published in fairly good journals, taught MS and PhD students, and was almost tenured. Before I formally applied for tenure – at the same university where I got my PhD - we had to leave. My parents were assassinated, our house burned down and all assets seized. We lost everything. My family had to escape to Belgium - where the Belgian government hurriedly helped us get a new identity but not new academic credentials - and from Belgium we moved to Canada. I am in the US now.

I cannot document any of my academic credentials and nor do I want to be affiliated with my old name and life for the safety of my family. It is not safe for me to even contact my relatives back home.

Obviously I have skills in mathematics, given my terminal degree. But it looks like I will have to start fresh. I would - ideally -  like to get into medical school, either an MD or a DO program. It seems a huge waste to do a BS degree all over again when I already have a PhD and responsibilities - a wife and very young children. Any suggestions?
https://www.freedomhousedetroit.org/

I would give these people a call. This organization is fantastic and has association with the Immaculate Heart of Mary sisters from Monroe, MI.

https://internationalcenter.umich.edu/

Michigan's International Center is also a good place to call.

Also, welcome to the United States!
If you truly cannot access your old records, then at least we know how to quickly earn a new bachelor's by taking tests and online courses. Someone like you could conceivably have it in less than a year while working at the same time. Then you would just need the premed prerequisites, which you might well have needed anyway, that are mostly available at community colleges.
NanoDegree: Intro to Self-Driving Cars (2019)