Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
2019 TESU Graduate - Thank You thread!
I wanted to post a big thank you to this community, and especially to the active and knowledgeable members who give so freely of their time.  In December 2019 I graduated from TESU with a BALS - Humanities degree as well as an ASNSM - Comp Sci degree.  

The ASNSM was a last minute decision, so I scrambled in September to complete the CSMLearn math course (needed that second math course) and a Study.com Geology course (needed 1 more Natural World class).  

I was one course shy of being able to use the Natural Science and Math concentration for my BALS, but ultimately decided that I was happy with the Humanities concentration and getting my diploma in 2019.

I started my higher ed journey in 2017 with zero credits, after finding that the 60 community college credits I earned in the late 80s were no good because the school wasn't accredited back then. I managed to get into SNHU's College for America competency based program where I earned 39 credits in six months. I then transferred to TESU and used alternative credits for the rest of my coursework. Remember the awesome Study.com 3 month Guardian scholarship?

I also received the Pierpont BoG Associate of Applied Science with an emphasis in English in 2019.  It was free and sure looks nice in a frame, even if the transcript issue still limits its value.  First applied for it in 2017, but the ball was dropped a few times.    Tongue   The cool thing is that Pierpont did accept most of my old orphaned credits from the 80s, so they ended up being used after all.  

Finishing up everything took me 2.5 years, with a lot of life happening along the way.  The journey itself was so much fun that I'm almost sorry it's over. So many hours with my planning spreadsheet and data mining this forum!