Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
2nd Bachelors or MBA?
Hello All,

I posted earlier that I finally finished my BBA at Baker College (Yay!). I want to immediately get in and start working on another degree. I own an IT business and have basically self taught myself everything over the years. However, I would like to get an IT related degree to help boost my credentials.

I was thinking of hopping into the WGU MBA - IT program. But after reviewing, I think it may be beneficial to get another undergrab IT degree from WGU first. Why? I think the certs could be very useful for me. I would like some input from anyone who has finished an IT degree from WGU. The programs I am considering from WGU undergrad are: 

1. Bachelor of Cybersecurity and Information Assurance
2. Bachelor of Network Administration & IT Security
3. Bachelor of Information Technology

I am not really interested in the Computer Science degree because my understanding is that it is very math intensive (I despise math). One thing is that I am not looking to take a very hard program. I do not want to program. I'd prefer an IT program that would allow me to earn some certifications and a Bachelors degree to add to my credentials.

Considering all of this, I assume all my general education requirements would be met with my other bachelor's. What path do you think is the best? One other thing I am thinking is that I want to pad my credentials to go along with my experience so if I sell the business down the line I can try to get a high paying corporate IT job. 

Or do you think it's a waste to get a bachelors and just go for the MBA in my situation?
Network Operations and Security
Baker College BBA (Graduated May 2019)
SL Credits: 54
ALEKS Credits: 9
Is your end goal an MBA in IT Mgmt even if you do the second bachelors? If so, I'd say do the MBA first and if you still have it left in your tank you can always come back to a second bachelors (or just pay your own way on certification).