Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
$600/week for a middle school/high school science teacher in Tampa
I think the sensei is not the best example. He's dedicated himself to a simple life, much like a monk. I think there are few to zero among us who want to make this choice.

The best way to get rid of the riff-raff is to only attract career teachers into the public sector. People who are willing to complete the proper certification, and meet the requirements set by the state. Tests aren't everything, but it's the best tool we have. Also, knowledge of a subject does not imply you can teach it. That includes ESL, unfortunately. My first year and a half out here, I'll admit, I was a horrible teacher. Proper training and experience give you teaching skills. In fact, looking at your sensei example, he's done much the same as above. He's shown his willingness to dedicate himself to this profession. I like the idea of charter schools sometimes, but often they're a little too profit-oriented in an industry that shouldn't be. This pushes them to teach to the test, and as a result students aren't really learning anything.
Goal - BA Mathematics Major at TESC
Plan: International AP Calculus Teacher

COMPLETED: [B]123/B]
B&M (Philosophy, Psychology, Calculus I/II, Physics I/II, Discrete Structures I/II, Comp Sci, Astronomy, Ethics)*42 credits
Athabasca (Nutrition, Globalization)*6 credits
ALEKS (Stats, Precalculus)*6 credits
CLEPS (College Math 73, A&I Lit 73, French 63, Social Sciences and History 59, American Lit 57, English Lit 59)*42 credits
TECEP (English Composition I, II)*6 credits
TESC Courses (MAT 270 Discrete Math A, MAT 321 Linear Algebra B, MAT 331 Calculus III B+, MAT 332 Calculus IV B-,
MAT 361 College Geometry B+, MAT 401 Mathematical Logic B, LIB-495 Capstone B)*21 credits
DSST (MIS, Intro to Computing)*6 credits*(not using)