Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A question for dposborne
I'm assuming that you are enlisted, or you would already have a degree, so I was curious as to what are your plans on once you get your degree?

The reason I ask is that when I was in my senior year of high school I wanted to join the Navy as a computer programmer. Unfortunately, the Navy could't guarantee me a position as a programmer, so I joined the Army because they would guarantee me the job I wanted. However, after taking the ASVAB the Navy did try to get me to join with a guarantee for schooling in the nuclear field, and made all kinds of promises to make it sound very tempting. It was very tempting. Truth is, I wanted to be in the Navy instead of the Army (I grew up as a Navy brat), but I ended up joining the Army (I don't regret it as I've been a civilian programmer for over 25 years now). Yet, I've wondered what my life would have been like had I taken that other path.

Have you been in long? Are you planning on becoming a maverick and going the officer route? Or are you hoping to get out and use your newly minted degree and years of experience to land a cushy civilian job in the nuclear field? Just idle curiosity on my part. How do you like the Navy? (After basic and schooling I spent my entire time at Ft. Gordon in Georgia. I missed not be able to explore the world.)
I'm going to go off-topic. Sorry. Big Grin If I were to join the military, I would join the Air Force. It seems like the right branch for nerds like myself.
Graduate of Not VUL or ENEB
MS, MSS and Graduate Cert
AAS, AS, BA, and BS
CLEP
Intro Psych 70, US His I 64, Intro Soc 63, Intro Edu Psych 70, A&I Lit 64, Bio 68, Prin Man 69, Prin Mar 68
DSST
Life Dev Psych 62, Fund Coun 68, Intro Comp 469, Intro Astr 56, Env & Hum 70, HTYH 456, MIS 451, Prin Sup 453, HRM 62, Bus Eth 458
ALEKS
Int Alg, Coll Alg
TEEX
4 credits
TECEP
Fed Inc Tax, Sci of Nutr, Micro, Strat Man, Med Term, Pub Relations
CSU