Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
AUABC too general?
I'm active duty enlisted AF right now and plan to retire (been in 6 1/2 years). I'm one class away from my CCAF (awaiting retake on speach Dantes) and am already enrolled in the Thomas Edison AU-ABC program (Technical Studies). What I'm unsure about is if the Technical Studies BSAST degree plan would be worse to have than an electronics engineering degree. The difference is that I would finish the Technical Studies degree plan sooner than I would an Electronics Engineering one (don't have to take Calculus in Technical Studies). However, I am planning on going on an getting a Master's Degree after I complete w/e BS I get.

It would be easier to know exactly what job I would want in 18 years when I get out but I don't and google isn't really helping find coverage on this topic. Should I switch to Electronics Engineering just to say I have an Engineering degree or should I just stay with the AU-ABC track. The end result is probably going to be the same though (TESC only offers a MSAST in Technical Studies so it'd either be BS in Technical Studies and MS in Technical Studies or BS in Electronics Engineering and MS in Technical Studies).

BTW, I'm PMEL technician (Calibration Technician) and will probably stay with this job when I get out since I'd already have about 20 years experience with it.
College Mathematics: 59 | Humanities: 58 | College Comp Modular: 58 | Intro. to Psychology: 65 | Public Speaking: 61/X | College Algebra: 63 | Technical Writing: 56 | Astronomy: 62 | Intro. to Computing: 462 | Macroeconomics: 59 | Microeconomics: 64 | Money & Banking: 52 | Marketing: 59 | Calculus: 47 | A&I Lit: 64
Quote:It would be easier to know exactly what job I would want in 18 years when I get out but I don't and google isn't really helping find coverage on this topic.