Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Am I figuring Excelsior costs correctly? LPN to RN (associates)
Hi guys! I hope ya'll can help me - I have turned to this board off and on for nearly a decade for all of my alternative credit information so I know how much knowledge abounds here. Wink 'm an obsessive planner and trying to work out what my costs would be if I went through the Excelsior LPN to RN program. I am currently in my LPN program and it requires I live away from my hubby and kiddos for most of the accelerated program - since we live in the boonies and hours from the nearest nursing programs. I would prefer not to live away from them while finishing my RN (and need to work during, too), which is why I'm hoping I can make Excelsior work for me. 

I love CLEPing and hope that between CLEP tests, some prereqs I'm taking through Portage Learning, and filling out with Straighterline, I will only have to take the nursing classes via Excelsior. I have a prior master's degree, and have read that it might get me out of the info literacy requirement, but I'm not sure if that's true.

Figuring on all this, I've come up with the following costs (I plan on the self-study/testing option for all classes I am able to do that for):

Application Fee $50
Enrollment Fee $1095
Nurse Courses/exams (8 courses, if I'm reading it right) $2840
FCCA courses/exams (2 of these?) $760
CPNE (assuming I can pass first try) $2295
Graduation Fee $495
Annual Fee (assuming 2 years) $990
Practice tests for nursing/FCCA courses ($75x10) $750

Total Cost $9275

I know this doesn't include books or other study materials I may need to pass the testing requirements. But am I missing any other costs that you guys see? Am I misreading any requirements on their site (entirely possible!)?

Here is where I'm pulling most of my info from: https://www.excelsior.edu/costs-and-financing/nurses