Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
An Introduction
G'day Everyone,

I am a newcomer to the forum and thought I'd take the time to introduce myself after spending the last week lurking around picking up all sorts of great tips from the many helpful threads and members.

I recently moved to the US from Australia with my US born wife and have spent the last two years getting my permanent residency status in order. Now that that has been taken care of I need to concentrate on furthering my education. Although I am currently employed fulltime in a good position with a large company I have found that future prospects are limited without a degree. So, at the age of 40+ and having been out of school for over 20 years I find that I am studying again.

That is not to say that I ever stopped studying. I have a Diploma of Business - Frontline Management and a Diploma of Training and Assessment Systems through the Australian education system. Unfortunately I have found that these qualifications do not translate directly to anything recognizable in the US. They do assist with the portfolio submissions I need to make but I have found that without a degree from a US College employers and potential employers do not put a lot of weight on what I currently have.

So to make a long story short, I have formulated a plan and expect to spend quite a bit of time at IC and the forum. I will try not to ask too many dumb questions but it is amazing how much people take for granted. For instance, when I got my drivers license over here I was told that most 6th graders could pass the written test yet I had to study for it and forget a lot of what I had learned and been doing over the last 25 years. So not having gone through the US education system and not having lived it my entire life I feel that a lot of what would be common knowledge to the average citizen will remain foreign to me. So please be gentle when I do ask what may seem to be obvious to everyone else.