Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Another Ray of Sunshine In the Job Market!
I know there are some on the forum trying to find a job, here's the latest report concerning degreed job applicants. I don't mean to be a harbinger of doom and gloom but I've been saying this same thing since I finished my degrees. Hopefully this will eventually turn around!

College Degrees More Expensive, Worth Less in Job Market - Yahoo! News

An excerpt:

Quote:The problem isn't just a soft job market - it's an oversupply of graduates. In 1973, a bachelor's degree was more of a rarity, since just 47% of high school graduates went on to college. By October 2008, that number had risen to nearly 70%. For many Americans today, a trip through college is considered as much of a birthright as a driver's license.
[SIZE="2"]Associates Degree, Aviation Maintenance Technology, Community College of the Air Force[/SIZE]
[SIZE="2"]Bachelors of Science, Liberal Studies Degree, Excelsior [/SIZE]
[SIZE="2"]MBA Human Resource Management, California Coast University[/SIZE]
It's kind of like downward price inelasticity, isn't it? You can increase the number of graduates, but when you go to raise the bar and weed out the less qualified ones people would freak out about "plummeting graduation rates". So we get college degree inflation.

Edit: not the most accurate metaphor in the world, but you get the idea...
[SIZE="1"]BS General Business, March 2010

CLEP College Algebra 51
CLEP Natural Sciences 63
CLEP Social Sciences and History 59
CLEP A&I Lit. 74
CLEP Intro to Sociology 67
CLEP Info Systems and Computer App. 58
CLEP Intro to Psychology 66
CLEP Intro to Business Law 64
CLEP Principles of Management 73
CLEP Principles of Marketing 63
CLEP Principles of Macroeconomics 61
CLEP Principles of Microeconomics 62
DSST Fundamentals of Counseling 49
DSST Principles of Supervision 61
DSST Substance Abuse 441 (Pass)
DSST Business Law II 67
DSST Management Information Systems 436