Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Any Project Managers on this board? Seeking advice
Hi all,

I recently graduated with my Masters of Science in Management and Leadership.  Currently freelancing as a business manager for my own company.  I have 20 years of experience in executive/administrative assisting and project coordination.  I also used to run an event planning business, so I have some experience as a project manager.

I've completed a project management basics certificate from the University of California.  I want to get PMP certified but I am confused with the requirements.  To obtain the PMP certification don't I need to be currently employed in a PM role?  

How often do they audit an application?  What is the verification process?

Do I need to have a CAPM before applying to Assistant/Jr. PM roles?  What job titles would you suggest I seek out to enter into this role?

As a PM do you have a good work-life balance? Do you often work over 40 hours a week?

Thank you for any information to help with this career change into this role.
Universal Life Church- PhD Philosophy in Religion (This was a funny vanity degree)
WGU- MS Management and Leadership- 2021
TESU- BALS concentration Social Science & ASNSM Computer Science- 2021
Red Rocks CC- Associates of General Studies
U of California- Project Management - 2021
Texas A&M Extension Engineering Service- Death Investigation, Information Risk Management, Disaster Recovery for Information Systems, Cyber Incident Analysis & Response, Disaster Recovery for Information Systems, Cyber Ethics, Cyber Law &White Collar Crime, Information Security for Everyone- 2016
State of Nevada- TAM & Alcohol Awareness Certification- 2015 
Allegra Learning LLC- Food, Nutrition, and Health- 2015
Dept of Homeland Security- Continuity of Operation, Protecting Your Home or Small Business from Disaster, Decision Making & Problem Solving, Effective Communication, Leadership & Influence- 2008
FAA- certified Flight attendant