Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TESU, low GPA and NJ Teaching Certification
I've done some searching on this topic throughout the forum but I'm having a hard time getting a consistent answer so I figured I'd post a new thread. Thanks in advance to anyone who reads!

Quick overview of my situation, in my first attempt as a student I left college with 52 credits and a cumulative GPA of 2.0. Since that time I've earned an additional 50 ACE/NCCRS credits and my academic evaluation at TESU now says my GPA is 2.3 (not sure how accurate that is). I'd like to complete a BA in History at TESU and a teacher's certification here in NJ but it looks like the minimum GPA for the certification is 3.0 (or possibly a 2.75 if a minimum Praxis test score is reached). I still have an additional 30 core credits to complete before I'm eligible for the BA.

Does anyone have any suggestions on the most cost effective way of getting my GPA up to that 2.75-3.0 area? Would replacing my D's and C's from my original coursework with passing grades on pass/fail courses like CLEP, StraighterLine, etc. help or does the GPA from that original transcript stick around? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
npk32 Wrote:I've done some searching on this topic throughout the forum but I'm having a hard time getting a consistent answer so I figured I'd post a new thread. Thanks in advance to anyone who reads!

Does anyone have any suggestions on the most cost effective way of getting my GPA up to that 2.75-3.0 area? Would replacing my D's and C's from my original coursework with passing grades on pass/fail courses like CLEP, StraighterLine, etc. help or does the GPA from that original transcript stick around? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Pass/Fail does not affect your GPA, so that's not going to work at all.