Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Arguing national over regional
So

I availed myself of the link in the teaching thread, and looked at what apparently is desired for that career path.

I have seen more than a few saying they want a terminal masters from an RA school.

Help me develop a strategy. I'm considering a NA masters' program. How would I go about convincing the people asking these requirements my degree is equivalent?

Is it potentially simply a matter of copypasta on the part of HR types? Or, is there something deeper I need to consider before plunking down a significant amount (to me, anyway) of money.

Thanks1
Angel 
Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies Thomas Edison State University 2018
Cert in Emergency Management -
Three Rivers CC 2017
Cert in Basic Police Ed - Walters State CC 1996

Current Goal: new job
Working on: securing funding I don't have to pay back for a Masters.
Up Next: Toying with Masters Programs
Finished: First Degree

Older Experience with: PLA / Portfolios, RPNow, Proctor U, ACE, NCCRS, DAVAR Academy (formerly Tor), Straighterline, TESU, Ed4Credit, Study.com, The Institutes, Kaplan, ALEKS, FEMA IS, NFA IS, brick & mortar community colleges, LOTS of vocational schools...

My list of academic courses:
link

Yeah, you need to consider that certain employers, especially RA schools, are going to care about the difference. A lot. Most private employers won't care.
NanoDegree: Intro to Self-Driving Cars (2019)
Coursera: Stanford Machine Learning (2019)
TESU: BA in Comp Sci (2016)
TECEP:Env Ethics (2015); TESU PLA:Software Eng, Computer Arch, C++, Advanced C++, Data Struct (2015); TESU Courses:Capstone, Database Mngmnt Sys, Op Sys, Artificial Intel, Discrete Math, Intro to Portfolio Dev, Intro PLA (2014-16); DSST:Anthro, Pers Fin, Astronomy (2014); CLEP:Intro to Soc (2014); Saylor.org:Intro to Computers (2014); CC: 69 units (1980-88)

PLA Tips Thread - TESU: What is in a Portfolio?
Yep, schools will probably not be convinced Sad