Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Arnold Fletcher
Ok, so I see a lot of people who graduated from TESC has posted that they are recipients of the Arnold Fletcher Award. So I look up today online to see what it is about and it is awarded to people who have over 90 non-traditional credits.

When I graduated last year, I didn't receive the award even though I have well over 100 non-traditional credits. So I'm thinking I got shafted from the award.

I'm wondering if it is because a good chunk of my credits are technical credits from the Air Force, which in my book are "non-traditional", but the Air Force is a full community college?

Any other Air Force people get the Arnold Fletcher with the CCAF?
CLEPS Passed: 10 DSST Passed: 11 TECEPS: 1

PrLoko-isms
Don't waste time by trying to save time. The only sure way to complete your degree is to knock out credits quickly and efficiently.

Don't let easiness bite you in the rear. Know your endgame (where you want to be) and plan backward from there. Your education is a means to an end.

Be honest professionally, socially and academically. There are people (especially little ones) who look up to you and they're going by your example.

Be proud. Whether you're an Engineer or Fast Food worker, there is honor and dignity in hard work.

Picking on people weaker than you only proves that you are a weak person.
I think they only count non-traditional credits from testing and online courses. I also missed out on the award when I graduated I only had 73 non-traditional credits, later I completed about 20 more for my AAS but you only can get the Fletcher award when going for your Bachelors. It is not really an academic award it just shows you didn't use many B&M credits.
Linda

Start by doing what is necessary: then do the possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible  St Francis of Assisi

Now a retired substitute Teacher in NY, & SC

AA Liberal Studies TESC '08
BA in Natural Science/Mathematics TESC Sept '10