Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
TESU BSBA completed- a few tips
I got my diploma in the mail over the weekend. I took my first CLEP about three years ago.

Thank you, everyone. Some of you have helped me directly over the years and many of you have helped me indirectly by asking great questions and providing great answers that I could find here in the forum. It wouldn't have been possible without this community and you all are fantastic. My family and I are truly grateful.

My exact degree plan isn't worth sharing, as it's based off an old catalog and includes courses that can't be used anymore, but it consisted of CLEPs, TECEPs, Straighterline, Study.com, Penn & Foster, and a few other minor sources.

I'm not enough of an expert to weigh in on most threads, so I thought I'd try to give back by offering some motivation and tips I've picked up:
  • You can do it. I had a lot of stops and starts over the last three years and there were a few times that I believed I'd never actually finish. Just keep putting in the work and it will be rewarded.
  • Use your excitement at completing a course or test as momentum to sign up for the next thing. This was the best advice I ever got. I'd sign up for a TECEP/CLEP after getting good news and suddenly have a new deadline imposed that kept me moving.
  • Research your test as much as possible at the start and develop an informed study plan. It's tempting to jump right in and not put in that work at the beginning, but I got better results in less time every time. The times I didn't prepare a good plan, it hurt and ate up unnecessary time 
  • Always have something cooking. I had a few phases after some big life events where everything ground to a halt. I regret not doing something with that time, even if it was just some minor study work. When I stopped making progress, it was really hard to start again.