Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
CLEP is getting the best of me
I agree with others- it helps if you have an interest or understanding of the test you're taking. I have taken seven CLEP/DSST tests and passed 5 of them. I actually took American Literature first because I knew it was one I was interested in. I ended up failing with a 47. I think I just didn't know what to expect going into these tests. Since then I have used IC and the specific forum feedback (this has really gotten me through a few), REA study guides, the CLEP official study guides. The length of time to study for each test has varied for me. For example, I needed to test out of two history classes and history is not my thing. I want to say I studied for about two weeks for each test, a few hours each day. I took Intro to Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice and probably only studied about a week each for these. I felt like both of those had a lot of common sense things on them. My scores have not been highest but passing!

You just have to find what study material works best for you and go through it several times!

Good luck!
I usually give myself a month or less for any CLEP. This puts a hard time frame on things. My usual routine is to get an overview with a Wikipedia page and some Youtube videos. This sets a framework. Next, I hit more structured studying using something akin to Modern States. Next is drilling questions from a place like freeclepprep.com. Weak areas get more study time and then reassessed. I have taken over 12 CLEPS or DSSTs and have not failed so maybe this works just for me. My last CLEP was MacroEcon which is dry so a condensed study is the only way I can get through boring material. I gave myself a month and crushed it. Miserable month but not all classes are fun.
[-] The following 1 user Likes cardiacclep's post:
  • rachel83az