Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
From Social Work to Programming?
Question 
Hello all!

I'm new here and looking for some advice. I am currently a social worker interested in making a career change to computer programming. After some extensive research I am interested in the BA in CS from TESU. I plan to complete as many classes on Study.com as possible to lower the cost of the degree. Will completing this degree be enough to land me an entry level job in programming/coding?

When I was around 12 years old (about 20 years ago) I taught myself HTML and CSS. I then moved on to learn a very tiny bit of PHP to help me in modifying Wordpress templates. I really enjoyed coding and would do it for hours completely losing track of time. I unfortunately did not choose this as a career path and regret it. 

I understand that I could self teach a language (very interested in Python) and probably land a job eventually, but when looking around at jobs in my area most want a related degree.

I'm hoping to make a career switch in the next 12 months. Any advice?

Edu History:
  • Currently working on an MBA at WGU (not enjoying this at all)
  • MS in Social Work from state school - 2016
  • BS in sociology from state school - 2012
Are you planning on fiishing your wgu MBA? It might make sense to switch to wgu's bachelor of computer Science.
(10-26-2019, 06:44 PM)natshar Wrote: Are you planning on fiishing your wgu MBA? It might make sense to switch to wgu's bachelor of computer Science.

Thank you for the reply.