Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Confused on FEMA courses
I was searching through the site and was noticing that some of the older members were banging out 20-30 FEMA courses. I read that TEST won't accept them but Charter Oaks might?

Who still accepts these and what is the deal with laundering them through Frederick Community college. is FCC the one in Maryland in Frederick County?

If so I am a Maryland resident and I am wondering what I could possibly do.
FCC takes them and the schools that accept them generally follow the FCC guidelines on credit.

COSC still accepts them directly from FEMA for free, they will almost always count as "free elective" credit.

Excelsior will take them but you have to follow the FEMA/FCC process of converting them to credit. This carries a cost of around $81/credit
https://training.fema.gov/is/isfaq.aspx
MBA, Western Governors University February 2014
BS Charter Oak State College November 2011
AS in EMS August 2010

I'm always happy to complete the free application waiver for those applying to WGU (I get a free gift from WGU for this).  Just PM me your first/last name and a valid email so I can complete their form.

Thread; COSC AS using FEMA http://www.degreeforum.net/excelsior-tho...total.html
I have never known anyone in Maryland who used the FEMA for a degree, but FCC does offer one Emergency Management - Frederick Community College

My understanding is that they require some added coursework over and above the FEMA course...but I have no first hand experience with that. Clackamus CC in Washington State,Red Rocks (in Arkansas?), and Guam CC all use FEMA in degree programs, but each makes it difficult if not impossible to earn a degree via distance.
AS in EMS August 2010

I'm always happy to complete the free application waiver for those applying to WGU (I get a free gift from WGU for this).  Just PM me your first/last name and a valid email so I can complete their form.