Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Deciding on an order/financial aid/new here
Hello all! I'm new here, 32 year old mom of 6, looking to re-enter the work force after 12 years out of it, and need a degree  Sad. I've looked into getting my degree online in the past, but things have not worked out both financially and time wise.  

I'm just getting started here but I have done some searching and reading through threads looking for answers so forgive me if this is answered somewhere, but I couldn't find it...  I filled out the 2018-2019 FAFSA last night and based on initial assessment, it shows an EFC of $0 and a potential max Pell Grant Award, so I'm hoping to take advantage of as much financial aid as possible for the actual school costs of either TESU or COSC.  I have 6 or 9 elective credits from about 15 years ago, so not sure if they will transfer yet.  My question.... should I focus on Gen Ed CLEP/DSST/Saylor courses for the next few months and then enroll at one of them for the fall and then continue taking exams (more degree specific once ive nailed down degree path) and having them sent to the school? That is what my gut is telling me, but I wanted to double check with you all. 

Has anyone used Federal aid for this kind of degree path? Are you able to use your fed aid for testing fees?  I need to do this as inexpensively as possible as we are a one income household and every test will include a substantial childcare cost for me depending on when the test is taken.  Only 3 of my kids are in school.  

Another Q: Im trying to figure out what I need to study for... I signed up for Instant Cert but I would really like to do some practice tests.... I ordered Cracking the CLEP and the Official CLEP study guide, so I'll be going through those. Should I just focus on the Instant Cert units?  I must be getting some old info too because I thought there was one Get Ed test that could grant you like 30 credits if you scored high enough...?