Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Don’t like new job
I graduated TESU in March and started a new job in April. I really don’t like it. I don’t feel like I mesh with over half of the department.
I have already started applying to other positions. But how bad does it look to jump ship so soon? How do I spin the “not meshing” aspect? I was going to try to tough it out until October when I can ask for an internal transfer, but not sure it’s worth the unnecessary conflict with passive aggressive coworkers. I’ve had blatant refusal to help me locate needed supplies, despite my request for help indicating I did not know where supplies were located. One of the folk I do have a report with told me today that there is a high turnover. I can’t imagine why....
I wouldn't stay if you get another offer.

You could leave this place off your resume entirely, and say you wanted a short break after you finished school. (I would have a reason why.)

If asked in the interview why you're looking to leave so soon you simply tell them that you recently graduated college, found yourself in need of a job and took one (the first one offered possibly at that!) - sure you can pay the bills with it <it's fine>, but now you're looking ahead to build a career (which brings you to this interview).

You're a college graduate now, you have far more opportunities than you did before you completed your degree. Life is too short to be at a job you don't like, or one where you're not treated with basic respect (asking where office supplies are and not being assisted, that is uncalled for - this is really basic stuff, how will you be treated when there is a real problem you need assistance with by your department/team co-workers)
Amberton University
- MS Human Relations and Business - 2022
Thomas Edison State University (TESU)
- BSBA General Management - 2018
- ASNSM Computer Science -2018

[-] The following 1 user Likes allvia's post:
  • High_Order1