Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ed.D. question
I’m a high school teacher. Years ago, I began an Ed.D. program right after finishing my master’s. I finished all of the coursework, and passed my comprehensive examination. About a year or so into the dissertation process, I decided to switch to an Ed.S. program, earn that degree, and be done with school. I was worn out. As of late, I’ve been contemplating going back to finish the Ed.D. It won’t give me much more on the pay scale for my K-12 school district, but it could possibly help in the part-time adjunct job search. As a side-bar, in addition to teaching in the K-12 sector, I also held a part-time position teaching undergrad for five years. I was let go after course availability decreased, and I haven’t been able to land another adjunct job since then, even though I have an Ed.S. degree. There are a few things that make me apprehensive about attempting round two of an Ed.D. program. I don’t want to start over or take additional classes that I’ve already taken. I can’t pay out of pocket. I’ve already accumulated much student loan debt, and I’m not going to put myself in more debt.
Any thoughts or input would be appreciated. Thanks
I would highly recommend checking out the University of the Cumberlands. They have a very generous transfer policy, if you have credits (or a degree) above and beyond a qualifying masters. Its not quite an ABD completion program, but about as close as you'll likely get to that at an institution that also accepts Title IV funding.
I would strongly recommend not attending University of the Cumberlands as they have a horrible reputation. I would recommend the American College of Education - they are the same price as Cumberlands & actually accept twice as many transfer credits into their EdD than Cumberlands (18 vs 9).

http://www.ace.edu
BABA, New England College, 2019