Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fast-track degree for Japan working visa
Hey there!

I have worked as an administrative officer with the UK Civil Service for 10 years but am ready for a fresh challenge (I have recently turned 40).

I am a UK resident, and am keen to move to Japan to teach English, however, to obtain a work visa in Japan one must be the recipient of an accredited Baccalaureate. To obtain this through distance learning with the UK's Open University would require at least 3 years.

Researching the subject online, I came across an article whereby someone had gotten their Japanese work visa via achieving their accredited degree online through TESU in 10 months.

To say that I was encouraged would be an understatement! I contacted the website's creator and he was generous in his advice; he pointed me in the direction of this forum, for which I am very grateful.

I believe that with enough study and hard work that I could obtain a valid degree in a year through TESU. I am specifically interested in obtaining a degree through the flexible approach afforded by the BA course in Liberal Arts, with a view to transferring an acceptable amount of credit through "testing out" TESU-recognized alternative course equivalency credits.

I now have folders of links marked "EQUIVALENCIES", "Degree plans" "Electives" "CLEP" etc etc ad nauseum. I've found myself bookmarking pages and finding I have them already bookmarked so I might need to calm down a little. The vagaries and open-endedness can be disconcerting for someone new to navigating this hitherto unbeknownst pathway towards a degree.

I understand that the Liberal Arts capstone is a non-negotiable part of the puzzle, from the little I heave gleaned here; also it seems that if i enrol before Friday (!) that I may or may not be able to avoid the new cornerstone pre-requisite, but that either way, it would be a good idea to enrol now to "lock in" the current course catalogue.