Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fun Question
Which one would you rather have?

When I completed my first set of degrees, there were limited options for earning credits. There was pretty much just CLEP, DSST, Penn Foster, Excelsior exams and TECEPs (they were more expensive), some little-known NCCRS options, and I think SL was just starting out. However, TESU only required a capstone for the BSBA and you could transfer it in, FEMAs were accepted, and CC courses could transfer in as UL. If you wanted to complete a major with few alternative options, you could use the Subject GRE tests to complete a whole major at Excelsior.

Now, we have TEEX, Davar, Study.com, CSU Global CBEs, etc, but there are residency requirements, Excelsior no longer accepts GRE tests, more capstones, and TESU has become stricter in what they'll accept as UL.

I think I'd rather have the first option. I paid a larger enrollment fee, but I didn't have to complete a capstone, and my CC courses filled up a good amount of my major. I probably would have finished a science degree at Excelsior if they still accepted the GRE. I might have even been able to finish one at TESU with CC courses, but they don't even have a natural science major anymore.

I do understand the reasons behind the changes.
Graduate of Not VUL or ENEB
MS, MSS and Graduate Cert
AAS, AS, BA, and BS
CLEP
Intro Psych 70, US His I 64, Intro Soc 63, Intro Edu Psych 70, A&I Lit 64, Bio 68, Prin Man 69, Prin Mar 68
DSST
Life Dev Psych 62, Fund Coun 68, Intro Comp 469, Intro Astr 56, Env & Hum 70, HTYH 456, MIS 451, Prin Sup 453, HRM 62, Bus Eth 458
ALEKS
Int Alg, Coll Alg
TEEX
4 credits
TECEP
Fed Inc Tax, Sci of Nutr, Micro, Strat Man, Med Term, Pub Relations
CSU
Sys Analysis & Design, Programming, Cyber
SL
Intro to Comm, Microbio, Acc I
Uexcel
A&P
Davar
Macro, Intro to Fin, Man Acc