Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Getting advice from a counselor
It's been a loooong time since I earned my degrees and things are very different now so I can't quite remember: At what point can someone get a meeting with an academic counselor from a college and get a specific degree plan (take this not that)? After paying for the registration fee? I've read a lot of posts of people applying to all 3 or 4 schools and seeing who gives them the most credit, but do you actually get specific guidance for future courses at that time?
TIA
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Homeschool College Guidance Counselor Mom to twin 18 yo boys

CsmLearn
Study: US History, Pres Skills, Enviro Sci, Ethics America, Intro CJ, Meteorology, Forensic Sci, Criminology
Sophia: Psych, Visual Comms, Sociology, Eff Teams, Mng Conflict,  Anc Greek, Art History 1, Intro to IT,
Intro to Bus, Engl Comp 1&2, Religion, Conflict Reso, College Algebra, US History 2
TEEX: Death Invest
Coopersmith: Stress Mgmt, Therapeutic, Drugs & Society, Sport & Exercise, Psych of Motivation, Pos Psych, Career Coun
Community College: Comp Info Syst, A+ Hardware, A+ Op Syst, Linux Op Syst, Networks, Switching & Routing, Networking, IT Security
Computer Certs: Comp Tia A+

Planning for (2) Bachelors: BSLS 

Generally once you have applied, you can access academic advising. However, the Big3 (and probably every other school on the planet) are generally unhelpful when it comes to recommending the types of alternative credit we specialize in around here. They will only help you take regular courses which are quite expensive. That's one of the reasons this community exists, to help people map out their own path for much cheaper than the school can help you do.
NanoDegree: Intro to Self-Driving Cars (2019)
Coursera: Stanford Machine Learning (2019)
TESU: BA in Comp Sci (2016)