Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Group Etiquette Question
Hi,

As most of you know, I'm in the middle of my Capstone class at COSC. The first three weeks we're doing group assignments and this week is my week as team leader. Everyone submits portions of the group essay and I gather and edit to present the final document.

Anyhow.. I have a question about a member of the group that isn't participating. I've never done online group work before so I have no idea of the proper way to handle this.

The story goes like this. Our team is 7 members and one person, we'll call her "Jane" has not been very participative from the start. On our first group assignment, Jane submitted her portion of the groupwork late. We had already completed the essay, so while she did try to participate, her efforts were very late, and we'd already completed the essay by then, so her contribution was pointless.

Now we're on the second group assignment and she volunteered to co-lead with me. I've been doing all of the work and not only has she not helped me, she hasn't even submitted her portion of the group work a second time. She did pop into our group forum for a moment earlier this week to apologize for her lack of participation and explain that her grandfather just got moved to hospice.

Am I being callous in saying that she should either work or drop the class? Even if her grandfather is in hospice, what is she going to do, hang out with him there all day? Couldn't she step away for a few to do a little work? *end rant*