Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'm back. So much has changed!
I graduated with my AA/BA Liberal Studies from TESC somewhere around 2013...used CLEP and DSST heavily. I've forgotten many details. Went on to nursing school, got my BS Nursing, have been an RN for nearly 3 years.

I'm back for the little sister! She wants to get an AA in something general, something she can test out of as much as possible. Is that still a thing now? I'm overwhelmed by all the changes. She is over 18 unlike myself at that time, so the age thing won't be an issue. Where do I start? I can't figure out the resource threads. I'm so lost. ? i don't even know if i should be posting in a different section.
AA Liberal Studies, Thomas Edison State College-Dec. 2012
BA Liberal Studies, Thomas Edison State College-Sept. 2013
16 CLEPs, 6 DSSTs, 12 FEMAs, and a handful of B&M lab science courses
120/120 credits DONE :hurray:

“He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes; he who does not ask a question remains a fool forever.”
[-] The following 2 users Like Snickerdoodle's post:
  • cookderosa, Life Long Learning
Doing an AA is sort of pointless from what I've gathered. The cost to get an entire BA is nearly the same, she'd just need to invest a bit more time.
There's a bunch of free credits available these days and you can get discounts and coupons for some providers.
1. Prep Phase: Hopeless, 15 credits, need a BA fast, never heard of TESU
2. TESU BALS: 121/120 (9 months)

3. RN Paramedic Bridge - Excelsior (9 months + CPNE wait)
4. WGU RN -> BSN
5. BSN -> MSN/FNP
Yeah, she can do that at TESU, Excelsior, or COSC. It seems that Excelsior has a capstone for all associate degrees now. I don't know about COSC. TESU still has a few without capstone, I believe. The general AA and only a few others. I would recommend one without capstone so it's cheaper and quicker.