Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
IBCLC to RA Doctorate
Hi everyone,

So, I have been trying to formulate a clear plan towards my doctorate at the cheapest price, as I am a homeschooling mom with very limited budget. Ultimately, I want to be able to teach at the college level for my church's missionary colleges, so I won't be making much money in the end. Currently, I work at one as the IT Admin for the midwifery department and I hope to do more teaching there and be a better asset for the school. Our school is working towards regional accreditation and I'd like to be counted on staff as one with a doctorate degree. Our school has a few majors - health, Bible, business, and education. 

I have a RA bachelors degree in chemical engineering, but it has been so long, I just can't imagine diving deep into that difficult material again. I have spent the last 12 years getting lay certifications in childbirth related professions, and I used to run a tutoring company. So, I feel that (women's) health or education would be the best fits for me and my interests. Since I am already working in the midwifery department, I would like to contribute more there and maybe help with teaching in the health department. So, I am leaning towards the health side of things. 

So, this is what I am thinking and have been working on with my tiny little budget.

1. Get my IBCLC (international board certified lactation consultant).
- I only need 4 more college-level classes to finish the health science prerequisites. Thankfully the board accepts ACE credits, etc. I finished Sociology at Saylor and am working on Nutrition at Study.com. I plan to do Intro to Biology at Straighter Line, Psychology at Saylor, and Infant Toddler Development at Cooper Smith. I hope to get these done by the end of December.
- I will take the 95 lactation education hours with Lactation Education Resources at $1200.