Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
International student, complex study history, looking at TESU BA Psych
Hi, everyone Smile New to the forum, excited to be here. Been doing a lot of research on my own.

I'm an Australian citizen and resident, currently aged 24. I've been interested in the concept of a degree by examination for a long time, but never been entirely clear on how to actualize it until now. My educational history is pretty complicated, and translating it internationally even moreso. I don't have a conventional 'high school diploma' (the local terminology for this varies by state; I'm using American terminology for simplicity), and Australia lacks a simple GED equivalent or clear-cut 'homeschool diploma'*, but I have multiple forms of both ~equivalent qualifications and previous attempts at higher study, some fairly unusual:
  • I have a Certificate III, which is the closest 'high school equivalent' certification that exists; they inhabit the same level of the Australian Qualifications Framework, the standardized national system for educational qualifications, and are treated as equal-level qualifications in demographic and sociological data (see example). Cert 3s are generally pass/fail (including mine), which does make it a little more complicated to compare to high school completion in grade level terms.
  • I was until recently (i.e. weeks ago) working towards an Advanced Diploma, which is equivalent to an Associate's (not a common degree in the Australian system, though they're starting to pop up), but used as an end in itself rather than a means to transfer. I completed the equivalent of 12-15 or so credits, not a huge amount, probably overlapping with the next category, but it does demonstrate both some credits that may apply (especially if few from the next category do) and that I'm locally "eligible for" higher education in the same sense as someone with a conventional high school experience. This was also pass/fail.