Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Job Fair Results
well guys, I have about a year left in the military before I get out so i decided to go a job fair. well long story short it was the wrong job fair for me, I was looking for a white collar job fair and this was all technician jobs BUT the results were still outstanding. Based on my navy experience as a manager, leader and a tech, I was looking at about $18 an hour, this was $10 more than I was making before I joined. When I was asked if I had an AAS, my pay went up to no lower than $23. Then I mention I had a bachelors and soon to have a masters, they dropped their jaws and told me that they needed a resume and contact info and wanted to know when I could start (almost like I was hired.) Everyone told me also that when I finished my masters I am looking at a substantial pay increase and a whole new set of jobs.

I was asked a few times where I went to college, and I told them excelsior some said that they have head of if, no one scoffed at it for being an online school and everyone was excited about it.

They said they were not hiring people with my credentials here but most said they would call me and we could set something up. well this was on Tuesday, it is now Sunday I have since gotten 23 call backs so far (out of 35 resumes I put out), wanting to meet for a formal interview and to sign stuff (to be hired) Sadly I had to decline because I am still in the navy for another year.

When I finally attend a white collar job fair (if they exists) I hope that I will be treated with the same enthusiasm but either way this shows that big three degrees are worth the same as their B&M counterparts.
AAT, Electromechanics, Excelsior College 2007
BS, Political Science, Excelsior College 2008
MSSL, Strategic Leadership, Mountain State (currently enrolled) 2009
what is your rank? thanks
DSST Environment & Race to Save Humanity *  51/80 Clep CIS  63/80
College Math  66/80 * DSST Business Law II  -  No Pass