Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Looking to get 6 credits in Foreign Language or Art/Music Credit to graduate in May
I'm a senior who needs 6 credits to graduate this May, and according to my University I need to "Select two courses in one foreign language, or any combination of two courses chosen from ART, MUS, or SIGN LANGUAGE"

They're very strict about what exams they accept, but I'm trying to keep my options open. They claim to only accept the Spanish CLEP (or German or French) and require a score of 58 to get six credits (They also refuse to take the NYU Language Proficiency tests because they are't familiar with the exam). 

I'm not very good at Spanish, but I went ahead and registered for the exam. I took 3 years of Spanish in high school, but I'm not sure if that will be enough. If anyone has any experience with taking Spanish CLEP feel free to offer any advice. 

I'm also trying to get some sort of back up plan in case I need Art or Music transfer credit (They won't take any credit that is earned by testing for Art or Music, so no DSST Exam) Anyone have any experience with TECEP exams. They seem to offer a Music History exam, but if I were to pass it I'm not sure how the credit is awarded. Would I receive credit at Thomas Edison State University which I could then attempt to transfer to my University, or would they just send my university a test score (which they would deny).

I also see that TESU has 12 terms and accepts ACE credit. Could I take ACTFL exam, enroll, take a TECEP, and have them try and transfer my ACTFL credit to my univeristy. Will it say it was ACE credit on the transcript? (My university doesn't accept any form of ACE recommended credit other than CLEP)/

If anyone could help me out with some information, or suggest other options I'd really appreciate it.