Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
MSDA at WGU without having taken calculus?
I graduated from TESU in 2018 with my BSBA in Accounting. I am interested in the MS in Data Analytics program at WGU. I was told by the enrollment counselor that I would need to have taken at least calculus one and two to succeed in the program. I was told differently by some people that have completed the program. So I figured I would ask here. What has your experience been with this program if you are in it or have completed it? Do you think I need calculus to be successful with it? Thanks in advance.
Admission requirements unique to this degree.
Quote:To be considered for enrollment in this program, you must:
1. Possess a bachelor’s degree in a STEM field, Business degree (Quantitative Analysis, Accounting, Economics, Finance, or degree with similar quantitative focus). 
OR
2. Possess any bachelor’s degree PLUS one of the following:
  • Two years of related work experience
  • Relevant and current IT certification
  • Related IT coursework 
Admission requirements 
So the WGU page for that program makes no mention of calc 1 & 2 being required and even says that an accounting degree is acceptable for admission. It never hurts to brush up on or learn calculus and if you wanted, you could look into taking calc through SL or SDC to better prepare. Good luck!
WGU BSIT Complete January 2022
(77CU transferred in)(44/44CU ) 

RA(non WGU)(57cr)
JST/TESU Eval of NAVY Training(85/99cr)
The Institutes, TEEX, NFA(9cr): Ethics, Cyber 101/201/301, Safety
Sophia(60cr): 23 classes
Study.com(31cr): Eng105, Fin102, His108, LibSci101, Math104, Stat101, CS107, CS303, BUS107
CLEP(9cr): Intro Sociology 63 Intro Psych 61 US GOV 71
OD(12cr): Robotics, Cyber, Programming, Microecon
CSM(3cr)
Various IT/Cybersecurity Certifications from: CompTIA, Google, Microsoft, AWS, GIAC, LPI, IBM
CS Fund. MicroBachelor(3cr)
Here are some options for calculus I courses and, if necessary, credits: