Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need help planning BA in Liberal Arts at Excelsior
Hello! I am very sorry if this the wrong place to ask, I’m new to degree planning. I’m in 11th grade and am graduating at the end of this school year to save up money and study in what would have been 12th grade (I can’t work more than 20 hours while enrolled in school). After Excelsior, I plan to attend a 2-semester Teacher Preparation Institute at a state college. I’m hoping that I can become a certified teacher by 2024 or 2025 to teach history, humanities, or maybe biology.

I chose subjects I’m interested in or good at. The only things I struggle with are math and chemistry, but I plan to study before I take the courses like I would for CLEP and DSST. I don’t know if all of these credits transfer, actually count as upper level, or if they would even earn me a bachelor’s. I was wondering if someone could review it and give me advice? The only credits I have currently are from ENG 100 College Writing from USM, but I trust that I’ll pass each course and exam and will retake it if I do fail.

If this does work, I’ll be taking CLEP Biology and CLEP Analyzing & Interpreting Literature in May or June. I’ll start taking Sophia courses, then Straighterline, and then Study.com. During all of those, I’ll study for the CLEP and DSST exams. After that, I’ll enroll in Excelsior College.

Thank you for any and all help!

Excelsior College BA in Liberal Arts (121 Credits, 120 if I don't take Chemistry Lab)

Excelsior Requirements (7)
Excelsior Cornerstone A: Foundations or Cornerstone B: Pathways
Excelsior Information Literacy
Excelsior Liberal Arts Capstone (Upper Level)

Written English (6)
USM ENG 100 College Writing (From dual enrollment)
Sophia English Composition II

Humanities (9)
Sophia Art History I
Sophia Art History II
Sophia Ancient Greek Philosophers (If this doesn’t count as Ethics, then Sophia Intro to Ethics)

Social Sciences/History (9)
Sophia US History I