Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need your opinion on this, Student with Financial aid planning
Good evening, hope everyone is doing well,

I am a student at my local NJ community college.

I receive financial aid and I'm planning on transferring to TESU for my BA in CS.

If I go with TESU to receive my BA I won't really have to use financial aid since I'm paying out of pocket for alternative credit sources.
If you get a Bachelors degree you cannot use financial aid anymore is what I understand.

I was thinking what I should do,
Go to community for a second or third associates degree or another way to exhaust my financial aid, instead of just letting it go by getting my bachelors from TESU.

What do you think?

Thanks
You'll definitely want to use your financial aid to get at least 16 credits with TESU. For CS, the easiest path would be to take 6-9 UL CS courses, the capstone, the cornerstone, the 1-credit Jane Austin course, and then maybe one other course (depending on how many UL CS courses you do). If you don't do at least 16 credits at TESU, it'll cost you a lot more out of pocket because you'll have to pay the residency waiver.

Instead of getting a 2nd or 3rd associate's degree, consider getting a BSBA CIS at TESU or just any other degree in general. More value for the financial aid money than a bunch of associate's degrees. As long as you graduate with all of your bachelor's degrees at once, you can continue to use financial aid.
In progress:
TESU - BA Computer Science; BSBA CIS; ASNSM Math & CS; ASBA

Completed:
Pierpont - AAS BOG
Sophia (so many), The Institutes (old), Study.com (5 courses)
ASU: Human Origins, Astronomy, Intro Health & Wellness, Western Civilization, Computer Appls & Info Technology, Intro Programming
Strayer: CIS175, CIS111, WRK100, MAT210
[-] The following 1 user Likes rachel83az's post:
  • Lightorb333