Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie Here looking to focus on TESOL in the future
Hello everyone!

I found this forum two nights ago and have read about 4,000,000 (estimated but not far off) post since then. I have been researching college options online for about 3 weeks and as you all know there is A LOT of information. This forum is just awesome and invaluable for people who are looking to get an education.

My background is pretty lame. I have 0 college credits since I never went. I began working right out of high school, got married and starting having children right away (at 19!) We now live overseas because we wanted our children to experience a different culture and have lived in Latin America for close to 4 years. So now 11 years into my adult life I am ready to get a degree to do something I really enjoy. I currently do sales :puke: (not that anything is wrong with sales, but it's not for me) and I do not want to waste another 10 years of my life. My first goal is to get bachelor's degree and then I would love to move onto a Master's in TESOL or some other program that will give me an advantage in teaching English. Living in a Latin country (with no plans to go home) gives me a lot of chances to help people with their English and it is something I enjoy especially since so many people have helped me with my Spanish.

I gave up a much higher paying job to move here so some of my biggest concerns are financial. I was all pumped and ready to enroll at my local (still a NJ resident technically) community college until I realized that the FAFSA payment is for the entire year and not per semester. What are my options for financial aid in going the route of testing plus SL and other online options. Is this all out-of-pocket only? Also, being a NJ resident does it make sense for me to focus on TESU over the others since that is a NJ school? The finances aren't a deal breaker for me, it will just take me much longer to pay for all of this myself.