Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
No previous college and wanting a Marketing degree
I'm 42 years old and have one certification in healthcare. I've been riding the same job with it for 22 years and I recently have had to face the fact that it's a dead end, and the way the field has evolved, that particular job has less demand now. It motivated me to explore what I really want to do. Honestly, I have been oblivious to the legitimacy of Social Media Marketing as a job. While job listings for what I do are becoming uncommon, I see so many listings for some form of Digital Marketing.

Why Digital Marketing? I realized I've already been doing it to a lesser extent, fairly successfully, for several years. While I don't yet understand analytics or SEO, I've grown a few brands on social media. Nothing major, but they met my goals. The one that I'm most proud of is for my own original band. I've been designing ads and promotions for a few years, which resulted in signing to a record label. I'm fairly experienced by now with content creation - graphics, video editing, audio production. I love doing it, and I want to do it for a living.

The thing is, even Social Media jobs mostly require a Marketing Degree. I learned about WGU and Sophia, the various paths you can take in lieu of a traditional 4 years of tuition. I applied to WGU for the BSBA in Marketing. I've been accepted with a start date of Sept 1, because I wanted to do some of the more challenging courses (for me) on Sophia.

Over this last month, I've completed 6 courses on Sophia. I plan to keep cramming during the remaining time to earn as many credits as possible. My eyes are so dry.