Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Paying Residency Waiver
Hello! I recently applied to TESU CS program. I am a 2nd bachelors degree student and with my transfer credits, I will only need 33 more credits to graduate. I plan to transfer most of these via Sophia Learning/Study.com and just take the Capstone with TESU (the sample degree plans here have been a lifesaver!).
My question is this: How do folks typically pay the Residency Waiver? I know Federal Financial Aid is out, but has anyone gotten private student loans just to cover fees and not actual tuition? Does TESU offer payment plans? I am able to pay the total upfront, but I would really like to explore other options.

I plan to discuss this with TESU's Financial Aid Department when I get closer to graduating, but I'd love to hear anyone else's experience as well.

Thank you!
(05-03-2023, 07:36 PM)awildefish Wrote: How do folks typically pay the Residency Waiver? I know Federal Financial Aid is out, but has anyone gotten private student loans just to cover fees and not actual tuition? Does TESU offer payment plans?

I looked into this because my employer has a benefit where they pay a certain amount toward student loans, but I didn't find a good option. You wouldn't be able to take a student loan only for fees. A student loan has to be for tuition, and most (all?) lenders will not allow you to even apply unless you are at least half time, meaning 6 credits or more in a term. However, if you meet that minimum, then you can probably take a loan for current tuition and some amount of "future tuition," in which case it's possible that the overage would pay for the waiver fee when the time comes. I'm not sure exactly how/if this would work, but it should be possible.