Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
HappyPeanut - Degree Plan
I went to school for a vocational graphic design certificate at a local community college. I got hired and did well getting good jobs. I never wanted to do a 4 year degree because i never found it useful. Now I'm older and ideas change. I want to live in Asia now but its difficult to work without a degree. I want to teach English. I have a few questions. Cool
1. i did not do my general-ed and will study from scratch. I want to do all my general-ed credits at Study.com. Is this the right choice?
2. i want to enroll to TESU. Do i enroll now and pay for tuition? or... do all my general ed credits at study.com first then enroll and pay tuition to transfer credits at TESU
3. My Major is English Teaching. is there a solid outline of courses i can follow? would you mind sharing?
 Thank you all... my name is HappyPeanut Blush
1. No! Do not get your general eds from SDC. You are only allowed to bring in 90 credits from a single source and SDC has several important courses you may need later. Plus, they are expensive compared to the alternative. Use Sophia. It will fill out most of your GE requirements at TESU. Sophia is much, much cheaper and faster than doing courses through SDC. Sophia is $79/mo. and there is no limit to the number of their courses you are allowed to finish within that timeframe. Study.com restricts you to, at most, 5 courses per month and costs at least $200/mo. to be able to get credit. 

2. If you have existing credits, I would apply now and send in your transcript(s) so that you see what does and does not need to be completed for your degree. If you do not have credits, start with Sophia. Put credits on your ACE transcript. You can then apply, send in your ACE transcript, and either take your cornerstone course or pay for a TECEP exam to become a fully-enrolled student.