Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Penn Foster accreditation
I was just told by an academic advisor at Davenport, University MI that they will not accept credits from Penn Foster because PF is no longer accredited. They said that PF recently lost their accreditation. Has anyone else had this issue? Do you have suggestions?

thanks
I finished a assoc degree thru them and nobody would except their credits!~
hsing Wrote:I was just told by an academic advisor at Davenport, University MI that they will not accept credits from Penn Foster because PF is no longer accredited. They said that PF recently lost their accreditation. Has anyone else had this issue? Do you have suggestions?
thanks

Their college classes are not REGIONALLY accredited (I don't know if they ever were--but they've been NATIONALLY accredited by the DETC for at least the last several years--and likely longer.) If they really said that they "recently lost" their accreditation, then I would ask the advisor from where they received that information and why it is not reflected on Penn Foster's web site OR the DETC web site. See below for a search I performed one minute ago at the DETC site:
[COLOR="Blue"]
To search by Institution Name, you may type in the name (or partial name) of the institution.

Once you make your selection(s), click the “Search” button to proceed. To view a complete list of all DETC accredited institutions leave all fields blank and click "Search."

Institution Name: Penn Foster
Category: <Any Category> Degree Granting High Schools Military Schools Postsecondary Schools
State: <Any State> AL AZ CA CO CT DC FL GA HI IA IL JP LA LE MA MD MN MO NB NC NJ NY OH OR PA Pu TN Un UT VA WV
Subject: <Any Subject> A+ Certification Academic Degrees Academic

Name Category City State WebSite
Name like '%Penn Foster%'
Penn Foster Career School Postsecondary Scranton PA Penn Foster Career School | Self-Paced, Distance Education Programs