Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Starting TESC & Need Advice for Undergraduate Newbie
I have decided on TESC and will start the process over the next few days; going for a BSBA. I am looking for advice and options for a "newbie".

Working for a fortune 100 company (IT Management), I have plenty of life experience as well as 10+ years of business acumen. My downfall however is no post-secondary education beyond a single C++ programming course. I do have approximately 20 Harvard Mentor courses under my belt, a Cisco networking admin course as well as a few company training classes (business / management).

My employer covers 75% of the tuition expenses and I've had the "when are you going to get your degree" speech ad nauseum. At 39, I should have tackled this long ago ...

What are my options? If you were in my position, what would you do? How do I test out of the general education requirements? PLA (prior learning assessment), what does this give me?

I would like to start with more than 3 credits!
I would recommend going to the TESC website Thomas Edison State College/ Academic Programs and look over the different types of degrees. Do you want to get a Liberal Arts degree or are you interested in Business. How many prior credits do you have? They also have a program where you can get credits for certificates you should look into that and see how many credits they will award you for your C++. If you are definitely set on TESC (you might also want to check out Excelsior) go ahead and submit your application so they can began to process it. I would also recommend picking a CLEP/DSST to begin studying for (possibly Intoductory Sociology?). I am sure you will have this degree in no time you seem to be on the right track. Good Luck!
[SIZE="2"]BSBA Marketing Thomas Edison State College-63/120[/SIZE]