Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Straighterline to Grad school
Hi,

I'm currently studying at TESC, my degree is BSBA in international business. It looks like I will take a lot of classes through straighterline. I just want to know if that will effect my application to grad school when that time come.

Did any of you ever had that issue while applying to grad school.

I hope to hear some feedback.

Regards.
Timokito,

I have read that some grad schools would calculate your gpa from the last x number of credits but I am not sure how that would be impacted by Straighterline.

I do know that I took a lot of classes towards my BA from Straighterline and transferred in as many. I only took the capstone from TESC and got accepted to Northcentral's MBA program and Capella's Master's in Sports Psychology. Both with "just" my BA in Liberal Studies.

I expect it will vary depending on what grad school(s) you want to apply to.
B.A. Liberal Studies (Completed: 2015) - Thomas Edison State College
Can you get into a grad school with significant SL on your transcript? Of course you can!

Will you get into a specific program at a specific school? Depends on a lot of factors and SL could conceivably have a negative impact on that.

Is there a specific school/program your looking at? If so it may help to work backwards from their specific requirements and make sure you meet all prerequisites. Very competitive programs are ...very competitive... and little things can matter when seeking admission to them.

With all that said, I doubt there is a field out there that doesn't have a reputable school offering an advanced degree that SL would disqualify you from. WGU, Patten, TESC, COSC, EC, AMU/APU, all of these affer a variety of degree's and aren't going to care about an odd assortment of credits from SL and alternative sources (though they may have some requirements to see to).
MBA, Western Governors University February 2014
BS Charter Oak State College November 2011