Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TESU Alumnus
Hello everyone,

This question is more oriented towards people with work experience who have graduated from TESU. I earned my bachelors in Finance from TESU last year in May. I work in the oil and gas industry as an analyst, started in the customer service department. So far I have been at the same role for more than 2 years. I have tried applying to different roles/companies but haven't gotten any offers. I'm not sure if it's my degree/school that's the issue or something else. Maybe I should get a Masters/MBA from a more recognized school? How has your experience been with career progression after graduating from TESU? Thank you in advance.
It's probably your resume. I would suggest you have a resume expert look it over for any issues. We can get blind to our own mistakes and not see them when reviewing. I think it only costs $50-100 to have someone go over your resume for mistakes and to point out where it could be "tightened up". Some other possible issues:

1. Are you mentioning in your resume that it's an online degree? Don't do that.
2. Does your resume indicate that it only took (for instance) 2 years to earn your degree? Don't put a duration. Explanations of your degree can come later, at the interview stage. But only if they even ask.
3. Do you have relevant industry certifications, such as the CFP? Even if it's not directly relevant to the jobs you want, it may look better if you have it.
In progress:
TESU - BA Computer Science; BSBA CIS; ASNSM Math & CS; ASBA

Completed:
Pierpont - AAS BOG
Sophia (so many), The Institutes (old), Study.com (5 courses)
ASU: Human Origins, Astronomy, Intro Health & Wellness, Western Civilization, Computer Appls & Info Technology, Intro Programming
Strayer: CIS175, CIS111, WRK100, MAT210
[-] The following 3 users Like rachel83az's post:
  • jch, jsd, sanantone