Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TESU BSBA CIS Help/Advice
Hey all!

This is my first time making a forum post here so I apologize if I am in the wrong section, but I feel this is the most applicable for my current issue.

I've been working on a BSBA in Computer Information Systems on and off over the past three years as my work schedule has allowed by combining my Community college credits with SDC and Sophia courses. I want to complete this degree but ran into an issue as I was getting ready to apply for graduation.

I originally referenced the page for this degree on TESU's website and the SDC to TESU transfer tool on SDC's website to map my degree out and was able to complete most of the required courses. Unfortunately, when I did my evaluation a few months back I found out I made a slight mistake, I needed 4 upper-level courses in the specialization but I only had three (with two lower-level courses). I was a bit frustrated as I thought that COS-241 should have transferred as an upper-level course, but I chalked it up to a wasted test and moved on. I then went and took the Computer Architecture course on SDC and was content thinking I had met the upper-level course requirements as I now had 4 upper-level COS/CIS courses. I went to check my academic evaluation today before I paid the various graduation application expenses and found out that my Computer Architecture course didn't transfer into my specialization, and now I am a bit lost on what to do.

I'm calling early tomorrow to talk to an advisor to see if I can get some sort of exception since I technically do have 1) the required amount of credits in the specialization and 2) the required amount of upper-level CIS/COS courses, but I'm not sure how that will go. This is my last hurdle to getting this degree and I am definitively crestfallen as I don't want to spend another semester and possibly upwards of $1k to fill this last requirement.