Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Teaching at the University level
(10-16-2018, 10:57 PM)sanantone Wrote:
(10-16-2018, 01:21 PM)cookderosa Wrote: Sanantone,
I'm happy to address questions to clarify what I said to Cheese, but I have no interest in playing games with you.

This is your tactic when you don't want to admit that you were wrong.

For anyone else who is interested in accurate info rather than feel good info, try searching for doctoral programs in culinary arts and see how many you find. You cannot compare vocational programs to academic programs. The accreditation guidelines for instructor qualifications are different.

To Cheese: everything I've said to you for your wife is 100% true.
I am currently working to obtain 18+ credits in English in order to be qualified to teach at the CC level. I have a Master's degree, but it is in a subject not taught at the CC level. I live in a college town and there is a large research university, a small liberal arts college, and 3 campuses of our local community college. There are also branches of universities that are located other places and at least 3 small colleges within a 20 minute drive.

When I began to think about teaching at the CC level, I got on the website of each college in our area to see if there were any openings and I found 4 openings for English teachers. However, there were also openings for Communications. I noticed specifically because my son has a degree in Communications and I wondered if I should focus on that instead of English. Yes, these are CC and small colleges and I was only looking for adjunct positions, because that is what I am wanting. I checked today, just out of curiosity and there are 2 adjunct positions for Communications in my area. Do you live in a college town? I think the area that you live in has a lot to do with the possibility of breaking into teaching at the college level without any experience. However, there are many more options for online teaching.