Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Time Taken to Complete a Degree with the Big 3
Hello.

I’m curious to know long it has taken some of you to complete a degree by testing out with one of the big 3 by using the various sources of credit (Saylor, Straigherline, etc.) mentioned on this forum. How many hours per week do you spend studying? Did you start out with prior course work from traditional sources such as a community college?

I’m trying to figure out what it would take to get a BA in CompSci with TESU, but I would be starting with zero credits and haven’t been to school since I graduated high school in 1995.
I started with zero credits and will be finishing my degree in two months. In total it will have taken me 1.5 years. That includes a couple interruptions.
I probably spend 40 hours a week trying to study, however, after twitter, youtube, and this forum it ends up less than that.
TESU BA in Criminal Justice, 2018
TRCC Emergency Management Certificate, 2018
(11-15-2017, 09:23 PM)Joeman200 Wrote: I started with zero credits and will be finishing my degree in two months.   In total it will have taken me 1.5 years.  That includes a couple interruptions.
I probably spend 40 hours a week trying to study, however, after twitter, youtube, and this forum it ends up less than that.

Are you me? Haha, it's amazing how much time I wasted on these exact websites when I was supposed to be studying or working on courses.

To answer OP - my degree took exactly one year, but I skipped basically the entire month of March to chill my brain. July 2016-2017.
JonW Wrote:I’m curious to know long it has taken some of you to complete a degree by testing out with one of the big 3 by using the various sources of credit (Saylor, Straigherline, etc.) mentioned on this forum. How many hours per week do you spend studying? Did you start out with prior course work from traditional sources such as a community college?