Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tips for DIY Postbacc Premed Student?
Hey. Just found out about this forum and found a lot of good, helpful information here. I graduated with a BS in Chemistry a few years ago with a 2.3 GPA after not taking school seriously. After some life experience, I decided to go back to school and work my way towards medical school. I did a Prehealth postbacc with 32 RA letter grade credits (all hard science) with a 3.8 GPA and did a 32 credit MS in Biomedical Sciences with a 3.81 GPA. Even though I did well in my last 60+ credits my undergrad GPA is only 2.6 and overall GPA (undergrad + grad as calculated by osteopathic schools)  is 2.8. I still have a couple of years before I apply and online courses are widely accepted now by medical schools. MOST medical schools will screen based off of a 3.0 undergrad OR 3.0 undergrad+grad GPA. A handful of them with overlook my low GPA based on my postbacc/grad but I'm not willing to take that chance. Does any body have an tips for me? My goal is to take AS MANY EASY A RA letter graded courses in any subject as I humanly can (preferably science) with as low cost as possible within th next 24 months (60 credits is my goal). My employer pays me back $7k for college tuition reimbursement. It has to be online, preferably self paced/asynchronous. Although I'm open to community college, some schools look down on students who get a bachelor's and then take courses at the community college level. I have been taking ASU Universal Learner courses (and plan to take all of the science-related courses  but the $425 per course are adding up. I have read the wiki for "sources of credits" and "obscure credits" but I was looking to see if anybody had any tips. Portage, BYU Independent study, Idaho Independent study, ETSU openbucs seem pretty good. Does anybody know if ONU your way would let me take their $50/credit classes although I have a bachelor's? Thanks all