Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Union Electrician Apprentice - Advice of CLEPing out of a Accounting Degree?
Hello to everyone,

So the situation I'm in is that I'm a Union Electrician with IBEW 48, our dual credit program will allow us to have enough credits to ALMOST get an associates degree from Mt Hood Community college. I believe I'd need a PE, Social Studies, Mathmatics, and one other class to get an associates.

I also already have a 3 in AP Physics, 5 in AP Government, 4 in AP Psychology from high school. College US History with Dual Enrollment from High School which is also a Mt Hood Credit. So I have some stuff that may still be applicable.

Now I'd like to CLEP out of a Bachelor's Degree, ideally in accounting. As I'd like to take my college degree to the film industry and try my hand at producing.

But I'm open to the idea of using the Big Three and getting a Bachelor's of Liberal Arts/Studies. I just care about the credentials.

Then I plan on taking on Harvard at their Harvard Extension school. And this is frankly because of the prestige. But I'll cross that bridge when I get into it.

My primary focus is to get a Bachelor's the cheapest way possible through the big Three.

Can I get some advice on next steps?
Assuming that you're 20 years of age or older, if you want an Associate's degree, you can get one for FREE with Pierpont: https://degreeforum.miraheze.org/wiki/Pierpont_C%26TC

Again, assuming you're at least 20 years of age, if you want the cheapest Bachelor's in Accounting, that would almost certainly be to get a degree from UMPI: https://online.umpi.edu/programs/ba-accounting.aspx

But, if a competency-based degree isn't for you, it is possible to spend a little more and get a BSBA Accounting from TESU. Is your US History class the only actual college credit you have or do you have others? AP & CLEP don't count for this.
In progress:
TESU - BA Computer Science; BSBA CIS; ASNSM Math & CS; ASBA

Completed:
Pierpont - AAS BOG