Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Community College Student Needs Advice
Hi guys, I've been browsing these forums and had a few questions. Firstly, would any of the "Big 3" accept 80-90 credits from an accredited two-year institution in addition to CLEP credits?

Secondly, I'm currently studying Biotechnology at a two year school, and I plan to at least complete an A.S. in the subject. I'm in my early 30's, recently laid-off and really examining my options.

Thirdly, I've looked at Excelsior and TESC, and it looks as if I should be able to transfer all 62 of my A.S. credits towards a B.A. or B.S. in Biology. I'm a bit weary of continuing studies in Biology. I enjoy the subject matter, and I enjoy learning. However, I have a life to live, and I responsibilities to attend to. It seems as if a Doctorate degree in the subject is required to POSSIBLY make any real money. This situation leads to my last question.

How well respected are these degrees? If I wished to leave a Biotech position, and pursue Nuclear or Civil engineering, would a degree from a place like TESC give me a realistic chance of getting an engineering job? Thanks guys.
My son has an engineering decree that he received through Western Governor's State University -- he testing out of many classes which he already knew subject matter -- cost was reasonable and fully accredited. He works as an engineer for a large utility company -- pursued his decree after receiving two year associates with fifteen year break in time and then received BS in Engineering last term.
A.S. General Transfer Chattanooga State 2009
B.S.L.A. Thomas Edison State College June 7, 2013
33 CLEP
18 DSST
cmartel88 Wrote:Hi guys, I've been browsing these forums and had a few questions. Firstly, would any of the "Big 3" accept 80-90 credits from an accredited two-year institution in addition to CLEP credits?