Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
When will they learn? The high price of higher education online.
As a new Excelsior student I have spent hours researching sources of affordable credit. It has affirmed my belief that most colleges and universities are clueless about online education. Many seem to think that putting their classes online while retaining the ridiculous tuition they charge for club-ed is going to draw people to their institutions. When will they realize that many of us go the online route to avoid the expensive beast they have created at the B&M colleges?

If there is one phrase in higher education that angers me more than any other it is, "what the market will bear." Just because you can, doesn't mean you should.

Even our local cc has jumped on the bandwagon of charging as much as they think they can get away with. An online course from Pikes Peak Community College now runs $200 per credit with the stipend that Colorado throws in. They actually charge more for online classes than they charge for residential courses. I am still at a loss how online classes cost them more.

Exclesior seems to have caught the market based pricing bug. I love their flexibility, but I can do without their tuition. If they charged about half of what they do, I would be taking most of my courses through them. It is Fort Hays for me unless something better comes along. Excelsior will only get tuition from me for Capstone and information lit. (unless I use Penn Foster for Information lit). $200 per credit seems to be the most I can stomach.