Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Will the GRE as my major mess up my GPA for grad school?
First off, thanks SO MUCH for all the valuable information you have added to this forum. You are all godsends for lurkers like me. Big Grin

I am plotting my plan of attack for the BA at EC. My major will be Psychology, as that is a very easy subject for me to tackle. I am studying already for the GRE in October and thanks to your posts, (BIG shout-out to alissaroot!), I have a great lineup of study materials and resources.

I plan on attending Rutgers for my graduate degree when finished with EC, however, they have a GPA requirement. I realize that DSSTs and ECEs, (and some CLEPs), are graded but my concern is with the GRE. Knocking out my major with the GRE will also knock out a large portion of my 'grades', as it doesn't show grades or even classes on the transcripts.

In your opinion, would it be a better choice to take all those ECE/DSSTs for my major just to ensure my GPA or should I do the cheaper, faster option of taking the GRE? (I feel VERY confident that I can place high on the test.) And here's a question saved for last because it's the dumbest: If I have, let's say, only 25-30 credits worth of A's and the rest of my degree is pass/fail then will my GPA still reflect a 4.0? Don't you think a graduate school would look closely at that and think, "umm, suuure she got a 4.0 but that's because she only has a handful of graded exams/classes!" Rolleyes

Thanks for your thoughts!
I would love to hear the answers to these questions. I had absolutely no plans of going to grad school... until I [almost] finished my bachelor's in less than 10 months. So now I'm thinking about it a little, but I'm clueless as to how it all works.

Could someone explain the GRE, what it is and how it works? And what if I have no GPA? Is it possible to find grad schools that will overlook that?
~Brittany